Progress

Recently I treated myself to a solo evening meal at Brothl. It was fantastic. If you haven’t been, you must. This place takes unwanted food ‘scraps’ from top restaurants and transforms them into delicious, slow cooked, extremely nutrient dense broths. You choose either beef/chicken/seafood/veg and then can pick from a list of add ins. I had vegetable broth with ‘seasonal vegetables’ and ‘greens and weeds’. The flavour was incredible! And of course the house made bread and butter, a side dish with every broth. Grains freshly ground in house! Freshly churned butter! SPECTACULAR.

In a world obsessed with consumerism and MORE MORE MORE, Brothl is somewhat revolutionary in the simple idea that we should use what we’ve already got. Makes sense, doesn’t it? I wish it wasn’t revolutionary. I wish everyone had a compost bin and a vegetable garden. It feels so right, so natural, so organic.

Not only does Brothl’s philosophy sit well in my mind, it sits extremely well in my tummy. To quote their website;

40-50% of what is considered organic waste in Australia can be and should be consumed as nutrient rich food.

40-50%! It seems ludicrous. It’s so good for you! I once read that the annual food waste in the US alone is enough to satisfy the needs of the 1 billion malnourished people in the world (source). This hurts me. Why, in an abundant society, do people not only make choices which make little sense to their body, but also go on to throw away such a chunk of this food? Are they ignorant? Do they not understand, or do they just not care?

I know I’m not perfect. But I am proud of the fact that I attempt to live consciously. I’m not an activist. I’m just one person, but if I can reduce my negative impact, can’t we all?

I am thankful for my upbringing, for increasing my consciousness of what is or isn’t ‘waste’. I am thankful for my far less than wealthy financial state which ensures I am aware (at times painfully so!) of what it means to use what you’ve got.

When I dined at Brothl, there was a quote on the wall that inspired this whole post.

There is no time in modern agriculture for a farmer to write a poem or compose a song.

At first, I didn’t understand. Why would a farmer want to write a poem or compose a song? Then I realised. Or at least, I made my own interpretation of the quote. The farmers of the world are so driven by our intense consumerism that there is no time for anything else. Consumption is our priority now, and it doesn’t leave much time to stop and smell the roses.

It’s baffling. As a society, we have made so much progress. Why can’t we appreciate this? I feel that if we abuse our progress and our privileges, we will go backwards. But maybe that’s a good thing, if it means the farmer will have time for the important things.

Leave a Reply

