Focus on the good

My parents had a friend over for dinner tonight. I got home from work just in time for dessert (impeccable timing)(it was chocolate-orange avocado mousse prepared by yours truly and went down a treat and I’m sooo proud!).

This friend is going through some heavy stuff, but she said something so simple that it resonated really strongly with me. She said ‘we just need to focus on the good’. What a perfect way to live. We all have our shitty stuff, and we all have shitty stuff that we can’t change – be it business or personal, day-ruining or life-threatening. But what we can change is our focus.

I guess it’s just another grass is greener, rose coloured glasses, glass half full, look on the bright side kind of thing. But even if it is cliché, kitsch, all the rest of it – it’s essential. Loving life and finding the good is so central to everything. And that’s what I want to do with my life – find the good, and focus on it.

Here is some of the good I am currently focussing on.

I go to uni, and study something I love. I have found something I am ridiculously passionate about.
My parents have taught me to appreciate what I am given, and work for what I’m not.
It’s nearly summer.
I live in a crazy beautiful, amazingly diverse and (mostly!) accepting country.
I have seen so much of the world.
I have so much of the world left to see.
My body is capable, and strong.
My mind is capable and strong, too.

Also, a quote from tumblr:

“And kid, you’ve got to love yourself. you’ve got wake up at four in the morning, brew black coffee, and stare at the birds drowning in the darkness of the dawn. you’ve got to sit next to the man at the train station who’s reading your favourite book and start a conversation. you’ve got to come home after a bad day and burn your skin from a shower. then you’ve got to wash all your sheets until they smell of lemon detergent you bought for four dollars at the local grocery store. you’ve got to stop taking everything so goddam personally. you are not the moon kissing the black sky. you’ve got to compliment someones crooked brows at an art fair and tell them that their eyes remind you of green swimming pools in mid july. you’ve got to stop letting yourself get upset about things that won’t matter in two years. sleep in on saturday mornings and wake yourself up early on sunday. you’ve got to stop worrying about what you’re going to tell her when she finds out. you’ve got to stop over thinking why he stopped caring about you over six months ago. you’ve got to stop asking everyone for their opinions. fuck it. love yourself, kiddo. you’ve got to love yourself.”
I especially love the parts about sitting down next to someone and starting a conversation, and complimenting someone just because you can. And above all, loving yourself.
I want to live authentically.
Leave a Reply

