A start

Today feels like a fresh start. I’ve moved back to my parents’ house for the summer holidays, in the lovely town where I grew up. I’m using unpacking as an opportunity to spring clean. My wardrobe is gaining some level of order, whilst my mind is overflowing with songs and plans and gratitude.

There’s so much to do, so much to look forward to. I feel so free. And so I’m blogging about it. That’s new. But it feels good.

Yesterday I went to the Op Shop and bought a vest, The Horse Whisperer, and More Taste of Life. I’m a sucker for a retro cookbook, especially when I find little notes or ticks next to some of the recipes.

This morning I went for a sunny early morning bike ride and made french toast for breakfast.

This afternoon, in celebration of having a very lovely, spacious, light-filled kitchen all to myself, I made Banana + Peanut Butter Oat Muffins using Luar + Wolffdene‘s recipe. And was so infatuated by the pre-cooking flavour that I almost didn’t put them in the oven. I’m glad I did though, because they are wonderful. I used vanilla almond milk and skipped the vanilla extract, and added salt since my PB was unsalted.

This evening I walked to the park barefoot with Angus, my dog, and we sat in the grass until we both got hungry for dinner.

I’m feeling energised and happy. That’s all I really wanted to say. Sometimes it’s the simple things.

Leave a Reply

